New Music: Wakaan Releases “MEANWHILE” Label Compilation


Just yesterday, my personal favorite group of producers released a 17-song compilation of new and unreleased bass music. United under Liquid Stranger’s new independent label, Wakaan, Freddy Todd, NOTE, Conrank, Yheti, Toadface, Spankalicious, Space Jesus, Bleep Bloop, Shlump, PROKO, Sayer, Esseks, Pipus, Jade Cicada, Zebbler Encanti Experience, Halfred, Of the Trees, Djank Yucca, Mr. Bill, Fruitbat, and Supersillyus each contributed music to this grand reveal.

This group release is not the first power-move Liquid Stranger and his band of self-ascribed “free-form electronic music” producers executed this year to promote the young label. Just a couple weeks ago at the inaugural Up North Music & Arts Festival in Copemish, Michigan, Liquid Stranger hosted a “Wakaan Takeover” stage to feature his crew of like-minded, up-and-coming bass producers. Check out this recap video below.

Wakaan Takeover at UpNorth FestivalW A K A A N Takeover at UpNorth Festival. #Squad

Posted by Wakaan on Tuesday, August 30, 2016

After listening to this compilation I’m looking forward to catching a majority of these producers perform sets next weekend at the Great North Music & Arts Festival in Minot, ME (Freddy Todd, Yheti, Space Jesus, Esseks, Of the Trees, Jade Cicada, Bleep Bloop, and Supersillyus are each slated to perform). So in preparation for next weekend’s festivities, I fully intend to listen to these tracks on repeat throughout the upcoming week. Follow Wakaan on Facebook right here.

About author

Sam Hutchinson

Sam Hutchinson, aka "Hutch," is the original founder of, which launched in early 2015 from the ashes of his previous publication, For the past 6 years, Hutch has developed and grown Sound Fix with a group of friends and contributors to where it is today. He's currently enrolled in Berklee College of Music's Master's Certification program, and majored in Writing at Hamilton College, the birthplace of Sound Fix. Feel free to message Hutch at with any requests, questions, or samples pieces!

No comments